Goals and Goals and Goals

After a rather stressful, sleepless, and slightly sad finals period, summer is suddenly upon me!  I’m staying on campus over the summer and doing an internship that’ll only have me working 10 or less hours a week, so I’ve given a fair amount of thought to how I want to spend my plethora of extra time.  Here’s a tentative list of what I want to get done:

  1. Learn to play guitar.  Or, at least, learn to play a few songs for fun.  My friend is leaving his guitar with me, and I’m getting my brother’s abandoned guitar, so I’ll have the opportunity – I just need to find the patience.  And the right website to teach me.
  2. Finish Harry Potter in Chinese.  I bought the first book when I lived in Taiwan two years ago, and now that I’ve at least slightly expanded my vocabulary, I’m finally picking it up to read.  It took me an embarrassing amount of time to finish the first page the other day, so this goal might actually be unattainable……Chinese is kind of hard, so get off my back.
  3. Learn to cook.  I have no meal plan over the summer, so rather than being a goal, this is more of a necessary lesson.  I really would rather not starve/eat ramen and cereal for every meal.  Also it’s sad that I only know how to cook a few things; that needs to change.
  4. Visit museums.  I get free admissions to all the fantastic museums that are within walking distance of campus.  I should really start taking advantage of that.
  5. Make money.  I just received notice that I got my second on-campus job for the summer (in addition to my paid internship), so hopefully I’ll finally be able to save up some money instead of spending it all.  Hopefully….maybe…………
  6. Watch all the TV and movies.  I mean, all of them.  During the semester I never have time to watch TV or movies (although, okay, I do tend to watch movies quite a bit), and I need to catch up.
  7. Get in shape.  This is basically always a goal.  Aaaand it never happens.  That’s all.

Mostly I just want to have a relaxing summer.  I suppose if I achieve all of these goals, then I probably won’t end up having a restful summer, but it’ll be productive!  So that’s something.  Honestly, if I realize even one of these goals I’ll be happy.  Here’s to having a happy summer season!

Leave a comment